Articles

ToolTalk – Compressor

In ToolTalk on 2012/01/06 by jasoneci 屬於此標籤: , , , , , , , ,

20110410 Air compressor…

空氣壓縮機是蠻多用途的工具平台,能搭配不同的氣動工具應付不同的需求!但如果沒搞清楚這種東西的規格與到底買它幹嘛,就別輕易下手,免得進了家門才發覺不適用,搥胸頓足都來不及…

(top left)
My first air compressor, a small one since I couldn’t afford a larger one 20 years back.
With 1 HP motor and 2 gallon tank, this oil lubricated little guy never failed me during its service period.
It fell and broke its cylinder head some 10 years ago, but still working perfectly, I never refill its oil since it never turned dark.
The heavest tasks it took were spray paint the whole house and air chisel, the motor ran all the time, but never got too hot.
Left in Taiwan, not sure if my brother had sold it or given it away.

風雅頌交屋開始動手搞裝潢時買的,安靜、快速又耐操的油冷式小空壓機,被我不小心摔破了汽缸蓋,但好像沒事一樣,照常努力地工作,有夠超值的。它的 duty cycle 值極高,噴漆時需要的空氣量不小,它持續運轉一整天,沒什麼抱怨;拆輪胎的氣動板手或鎖螺絲的氣動起子都算小 case,只有使用氣動槌時有點力有未逮!因為有點重量,這台用了廿年沒出過狀況的空壓機,沒跟過來加拿大,讓我懊惱了一陣子,不知道是不是被送掉了…

(top right)
The Porter Cable branded $99 air compressor with 1.5 gallon tank, I bought it because my previous small one served well… I was wrong.
This thing is sold under different brands and tagged from $99 to $179, but is pretty much an inflator only, hardly enough to support DIY.
Probably because of its oil-less design, it’s incredibly noisy, you will need the ear plugs and be patient when using high air flow stuff, because it’s slow and it does get hot!
I returned it disappointed since I have a lot of pneumatic tools, can’t live with this improper platform… couldn’t believe it’s no compete with my very old and small compressor!

來加拿大之後很令人失望的第一台空壓機,牌子是 Porter Cable,蠻響亮的,以為會比在台灣的 PUMA 強,但很意外地… 有夠吵、速度慢、會發熱,差太多了!只有拿來灌風還算稱職,拿來 DIY 的話,我猜除了我的蚊釘槍之外,其他的都會詌譙!$99 看似不是很貴,但對我而言不值那個價錢!

(bottom)
Went CT for a $70 3 gallon aluminum tank air compressor thinking it’s light and well reputable. However, the reason behind the 1/3 of its listed price was being discontinued. I turned to this big 8 gallon guy with 3 packaged air tools, it’s only $105… pretty much like exchanged the Porter Cable one for it.
It’s also oil-less, so maintenance free, but noisy as well… very loud!
So far it’s working well, not fast, but excellent for its price!!

去 CT 想買一台掛牌 $200 但跳樓價 $70 的 3 加侖鋁缸空壓機,結果店員幫我查了一下,說那台才賣了兩年就停產… 看來耀眼的東西停產而沒有後繼產品,少碰為妙!改找這台 8 加侖的大傢伙,因為它不但掛 $105,還附 3 支工具,我需要那支 finish nailer,而且我… 貪小便宜!它看來便宜又大碗,所以就跟著我回家了!
它也是免保養的,所以也比我那台 PUMA 吵,而且也會發熱,不過速度還可以接受!我沒打算用太高風量的工具,所以只要記得別把噴漆槍和 air chisel 接上去就行了!
對我而言,差不多就是把 Porter Cable 的 1.5 加侖拿去換了一台 Mastercraft 的 8 加侖,所以… OK 啦。

還是我的小 PUMA 最好啦!

雖然我的氣動工具都跟過來了,但這裡的氣候狀況對它們的潤滑與油封設計而言有點苛!我有點擔心它們會因為水土不服而集體陣亡在這裡… 像我一樣,被凍斃了!

另外這裡的空氣管連接頭規格與台灣的系統不同,我所有的工具都接不上,跑遍了 HomeDepot、CT、RONA、KMS、Summit 都找不到適用的連接頭。但不知道為什麼,我的配件包裡竟然莫名其妙地有一顆連接頭(就是照片中連接黑色軟管與釘槍的連接頭),可以接上這裡的空氣管,所以台灣來的工具透過這個連接頭就能正常工作,否則就得把所有工具上的連接頭都換成這裡的規格了… 不想走的最後一步棋!

發表迴響

